Active Users:329 Time:15/05/2024 01:57:11 AM
Re: Not THAT ludicrous, just more extreme. (edit) Joel Send a noteboard - 22/11/2010 01:47:15 AM
So it's daytime is shorter; does that mean the seas of lead freeze on the night side?

No, it's day times are longer by about a hundredfold, and its temp is pretty much the same on both sides, heat transfer through convection happens really quick at those levels of pressure and heat. Venus's atmsosphere is around 100 atm IIRC

In that case the issue of a given side being exposed to the sun for a given time far longer than the other seems no issue at all: Temps are the same on both sides, so whether a planet with a very hot/cold side retains more heat than one where the two frequently switch orientations is moot.
I'm only a layman, but it seems like the amount of heat retained and reflected should be about the same whether the half of the surface getting sunlight is the same or varies.

Reflected, pretty much, radiated? Not even vaguely. The effect isn't linear. Stefan-Boltzmann Law requires an object to radiate energy at a rate of the fourth power to temperature. So like, double an objects tmep and it radiates 2^4 or 16 times as much, triple and 3^4, or 81 times as much. This is in Kelvin, so a 20 degree Fahrenheit difference between day and night isn't as much as it sounds like. Take the radiation between the Earth and sun... Divide the sun's surface temp by the Earth's (in kelvin) and raise that to the fourth power. Multiply that by the ratio of the sun's surface area to the Earth, you will see you have the same number as the ratio of the earth's radiation and the sun's (or close to it :P )

A planet that radiates half the time at a higher temp and half at a lower will radiate away more heat then one which keeps to the same average temp the whole time.

But since Venus evidently does the latter, and to an even greater degree than Earth, that's irrelevant here. Albedo seems more important.