Active Users:188 Time:18/05/2024 09:07:47 PM
/Opera review /sarcasm (where's the /serious art category) /end sarcasm The_Muted_Grimaud Send a noteboard - 13/01/2011 08:54:17 AM
(More information linked far below)

Went to see La Traviata at the MET tonight. Beautiful show ... was over all quite happy with my experience, even though the rush tickets sold out and I had to settle for $24.50 standing room only tickets, way in the back of the orchestra (that's the bottom floor). The view from orchestra standing room isn't bad at all though, the actual orchestra is a bit soft but the singers can be heard as clear as day, and what singers! Maria Poplavskaya sang Violetta and did such a beautiful job.

(Note about review, I didn't take notes, so my memory might misplace some events, or completely omit others, my first time watching this opera, second note is this is my first attempt at an opera review)

La Traviata is the opera by Giuseppe Verdi, written in 1853, based on the story of Alexandre Dumas fils (the son of the Three Muskateers' author), Lady of the Camellias. It's about a French courtesan, Violetta Valéry who, at the start, is partying her life away, (in the first act, she is presented as having just recovered somewhat from a chronic illness) and her greatest admirer, the upper class Alfredo Germont.

Super Quick Synopsis

ACT I: Violetta Valéry arrives on stage, followed by revelers. They revel, while Violetta and Alfredo Germont argue over 'life of pleasure' vs. 'life of love'. Violetta is on the side of pleasure, Alfredo, who direly loves Violetta, wants love. Revelers leave, Alfredo pleads with Violetta to come away with him. She hands him a camellia and tells him to return when it has faded. She sings a solo aria (very beautiful!), after which she hears his voice off stage, pleading to her (like in a dream), she breaks, and agrees to go. /End of Act