Active Users:278 Time:05/05/2024 07:09:57 AM
Okay, I'll also give you a longer reply here. LadyLorraine Send a noteboard - 08/07/2012 07:14:06 AM
So you know where I'm coming from, I'm a final year veterinary student.

Let me start with saying you've taken a good step as a future pet owner to legitimately seek advice as opposed to just DOING IT and dealing with the consequences later. As a member of the animal industry, THANK YOU!!!

I am going to join a new job soon in San Jose, California. It is a demanding one, and I will have to be away from home from 9 am to 6 pm. Moreover, most probably, I will have to live in an apartment because a house might be too costly for me to rent. I might also have to share the apartment with someone. There will also be times, when I am gone for 2-3 weeks. Add to all this the fact, that I have never had a pet before.

Honestly, with all you have told me right here, I'm already going to recommend you do not get a dog. You won't be home frequently, you'll be leaving for long periods of time on a predictably regular basis and you haven't had a pet before. This is a set up for a LOT of problems if you aren't totally prepared to get the perfect dog for you and work with these problems.

Is there a way to work around all these problems, and still keep a dog? Has anyone done something like this before? How do I start? I have been reading a bit, and realise that adopting an adult dog is what I should do. But, which type of dog to adopt? I like Golden Retrievers, Labradors, Newfies and Huskies, but can I keep them in apartments? Do they eat only meat, or can they be brought up on a vegetarian diet? Because I dont like handling or cooking raw meat. I have no qualms feeding them prepared or processed meat though. By the way, what type of dogs do not shed a lot of fur?