Active Users:176 Time:18/05/2024 01:20:44 PM
there are two things wolfsister Send a noteboard - 29/10/2012 04:13:50 PM
The first is far less dramatic and drawn out (sort of) because it only really involved me. I'm in my last year of my undergrad, and I'm happy. But it wasn't always that way. I started off in the School of the Arts as a Sculpture major. It was a huge accomplishment for me to get into that program (it's the best public Sculpture program in the nation), and I worked my ass off to get there. First year into the program was great (my first instructor was my advisor, and we just have really similar art-making processes and interests). Then it all went downhill... I wouldn't say "quickly" but definitely at an ever-increasing pace. I found that almost everyone that was considered a "professor" in the Sculpture department was up on their high horse. Their opinions were the only ones that mattered, and if you didn't agree then fuck you. (art-making and criticism is a completely subjective thing, and, in reality, a terrible thing to try to "grade" people on when you think your opinion is the only valid one.) I was really just feeling like the way I made art wasn't seen as valid (except in the Crafts department, to which I am still forever grateful for letting me do what I wanted to do). I was realizing that I was spending thousands on something I now hated.