Active Users:215 Time:29/03/2024 07:44:27 AM
The Standard Model is making me think of genetics in a new way (CRAZINESS) imlad Send a noteboard - 05/07/2013 07:40:44 PM

Okay, so I was reading a couple of articles from io9.com recently about the Standard Model of particle physics, and they kept talking about Symmetry and Supersymmetry, and how certain particles are actually essentially the same particle but really aren't (specifically it was saying this about electrons and neutrinos).

Then later in the evening I was watching something about genetics ("Decoding Neanderthal DNA" or something like that), and a crazy thought occured to me and I had to share this idea, to see if it makes sense to anyone else. Oh, and to clear up any misunderstandings I might have if someone can correct me.

NOTE: I am not a scientist, do not have a degree in any science, I just love reading about science and watching science documentaries. And coming up with crazy science-fictiony ideas when possible.

So, most of us know that genetics runs off of an "alphabet" of 4 letters: A, C, T, and G. Each letter only bonds to one other letter, forming pairs that make up the "rung" of the double-helix ladder. A binds to T, and G and C bind together.

Geneticists, when they read out our genetic code, basically only read one side of the ladder's rung, and know that when they see a T that the other side of that particular rung is A, and vice versa. Same goes for when they see a C or G.

Add in what I had just been reading about symmetry, and my mind (admittedly a bit effected at the time by some good old green herbs) came up with the idea that these base pairs could almost be thought of as particles like in the Standard Model.