Last night, I said I thought it was simultaneous possession in my initial viewings. I now think that Tate’s right arm came off slightly on the way down, and so his control wasn’t established again until after it went back on (sixth picture down). He did have his hands on ball right away, and he did have possession when they contacted the ground. If his right hand had not come off for a split second on the fall, I think it is simultaneous possession by rule, regardless of what happened on the ground twisting around. There is no such thing as a player having more control than the other based on having it near his chest. It was a bang-bang play.
emphasis mine, for full effect. your own "proof" does not believe simultaneous possession because TATE LET GO OF THE BALL. simultaneous catch is defined by player control, not possession. try again....
"Again" as in, "like before" (when he gained simultaneous possession.) The only way that changes anything is if we argue a player must have both hands on the ball to have possession, obviously absurd in light of all the one handed catches we have seen over the years (I saw several last weekend alone.) That leaves us with "There is no such thing as a player having more control than the other based on having it near his chest," and likewise no such thing as a player having more control than the other based on having it in both hands rather than one. So the only thing established "again" was Tates second hand on the ball: Removing one hand while his other was still grasping it did not end possession.
Of course, even if it did there would still be the issue of whether Jennings was down in the endzone before Tate stripped him. Another of the many ways NFL rules favor the offense: If Jennings catches the ball in the endzone, then Tate takes it away, it is a TD unless Jennings first stepped out of the endzone, took a knee, or something similar to end the play. He could (and defensive backs often do, silly creatures that they are

Honorbound and honored to be Bonded to Mahtaliel Sedai
Last First in wotmania Chat
Slightly better than chocolate.
Love still can't be coerced.
Please Don't Eat the Newbies!
LoL. Be well, RAFOlk.
Last First in wotmania Chat
Slightly better than chocolate.
Love still can't be coerced.
Please Don't Eat the Newbies!

LoL. Be well, RAFOlk.
This message last edited by Joel on 28/09/2012 at 01:10:48 AM
/NFL: now that replacement refs have cost the packers a win, can we please get the real ones back? *NM*
25/09/2012 05:14:58 AM
- 689 Views
Link? Clip?
25/09/2012 05:27:07 AM
- 717 Views
Let's just say that Gruden used the word "Jobbed" in the live telecast. *NM*
25/09/2012 05:35:08 AM
- 442 Views
Here's a link.
25/09/2012 05:36:56 AM
- 811 Views
Yes and no; that is the link I referenced in my post.
25/09/2012 05:47:07 AM
- 633 Views
youtube link
25/09/2012 07:00:29 AM
- 829 Views
Thanks; that looks like a textbook case of simultaneous possession, which goes to the receiver: TD.
25/09/2012 07:29:28 AM
- 718 Views
pete carroll is a cheating douchebag, you cannot take his word for what happened
25/09/2012 10:59:33 AM
- 984 Views
I did not; I watched the clip: Simultaneous possession, which goes to the receiver.
26/09/2012 01:30:18 AM
- 1325 Views
watch a better replay if you can
26/09/2012 02:38:17 AM
- 781 Views
Have now; still not convinced.
26/09/2012 04:01:23 AM
- 827 Views
also, the pass interference on tate that wasn't called is clear at 0:56 in that clip
25/09/2012 11:27:36 AM
- 790 Views
Tate was looking for the ball, and raised his hands to catch it, not push off Sam Shields.
26/09/2012 01:33:46 AM
- 751 Views
watch a better replay and get back to me on this one.
26/09/2012 02:36:43 AM
- 792 Views
Where did the NFL head office acknowledge that?
26/09/2012 03:52:36 AM
- 882 Views
in their official response to the whole incident....?
26/09/2012 04:14:52 AM
- 1017 Views
Fair enough then; the NFLs official position is that offensive PI should have been called.
26/09/2012 04:45:58 AM
- 796 Views
Yeah, if one hand counts as possession
25/09/2012 05:15:37 PM
- 801 Views
Left hand between Jennings' arms and on the ball; right was outside Jennings' arm and on the ball.
26/09/2012 01:38:28 AM
- 739 Views
How have you not seen this play? Are you in a cave? *NM*
25/09/2012 03:57:55 PM
- 383 Views
No, I am in Norway, where NFL coverage is rather limited.
26/09/2012 01:40:07 AM
- 931 Views
While you can hardly blame the replacement refs because they are basically trainees...
25/09/2012 06:05:22 AM
- 901 Views
Now I really want to see this play.
25/09/2012 06:27:42 AM
- 896 Views
Re: Now I really want to see this play.
25/09/2012 02:48:56 PM
- 804 Views
I have still only seen the YouTube clip, but it looked like they both had both hands on the ball.
26/09/2012 01:58:27 AM
- 734 Views
You might appreciate learning that the Lingerie Football League fired some of these refs
25/09/2012 07:19:37 AM
- 812 Views
Tie goes to the receiver - the rule for decades. The Packers benefitted from worse calls last year
25/09/2012 11:31:47 AM
- 838 Views
you probably think greedo shot first too.....
25/09/2012 01:49:03 PM
- 783 Views
Possession doesn't mean squat until you land. Tate had it by then
25/09/2012 03:13:29 PM
- 789 Views
he had nothing until they landed and he tried to pull it away. everyone but you agrees on this *NM*
25/09/2012 03:25:43 PM
- 373 Views
Not so; Cannoli and I agree on pretty much every point involved in this play.
26/09/2012 02:17:01 AM
- 760 Views
They can't reverse that call.
25/09/2012 04:43:28 PM
- 863 Views
the only possible way was to rule it incomplete
25/09/2012 10:42:25 PM
- 841 Views
It was very obviously caught; you can't rule that incomplete.
25/09/2012 11:06:17 PM
- 757 Views
my philosophy is "interception = incomplete" but i think that's only for stats purposes
26/09/2012 12:32:43 AM
- 732 Views
Congrats Cannoli, you are the only person (thing?) in the country who thinks it's a TD *NM*
25/09/2012 03:53:18 PM
- 509 Views
I'm not even the only person in this thread, moron. *NM*
25/09/2012 04:07:48 PM
- 417 Views
Joel hasn't even seen the play, douchebag *NM*
25/09/2012 04:12:35 PM
- 382 Views
I have seen enough of it, and while I did not write Cannolis response, I easily could have.
26/09/2012 02:06:45 AM
- 779 Views
Slightly (very) loopy yet entertaining piece on why Ayn Rand is to blame for all of this.
25/09/2012 05:38:12 PM
- 716 Views
She hates revenue sharing, salary caps & the draft, too, but the Pack would be screwed without each.
26/09/2012 03:34:00 AM
- 737 Views
Here's the proof Cannoli is refusing to see
25/09/2012 05:54:07 PM
- 846 Views
Clearer shot, but stills do not allow us to see where Tates hands were at all times.
26/09/2012 02:10:25 AM
- 650 Views
you can't claim "good ol' strip" *AND* simultaneous catch -- which is it?
26/09/2012 02:35:41 AM
- 1082 Views
I do not claim both: I claim simultaneous catch but IF not, then strip.
26/09/2012 03:51:47 AM
- 1081 Views
you sure you saw the right replay?
26/09/2012 04:21:57 AM
- 759 Views
Think so, yeah.
26/09/2012 04:58:15 AM
- 883 Views
from another angle -- pun intended
26/09/2012 04:01:54 PM
- 754 Views
There are two separate issues: 1) Was it a simultaneous catch; 2) IF not, was it a strip?
27/09/2012 08:54:52 AM
- 933 Views
your opinion is against pretty much everyone in the world, so..... *shrug*
27/09/2012 03:55:33 PM
- 983 Views
Thanks; I did not expect you to give in so easily.
27/09/2012 10:14:30 PM
- 797 Views
did you even read that article???
28/09/2012 12:35:39 AM
- 801 Views
"his control wasn’t established again...."
28/09/2012 01:08:03 AM
- 1105 Views
wow, what a thorough analysis you sent me
either way, you're still wrong
28/09/2012 02:05:24 AM
- 884 Views


Worst calls are made all the time by the regular officials.
26/09/2012 01:23:57 AM
- 753 Views
yes, but not usually more than one per game, certainly not several in a single weekend.... *NM*
26/09/2012 02:39:56 AM
- 389 Views