Congrats Cannoli, you are the only person (thing?) in the country who thinks it's a TD *NM*
Dark Knight Send a noteboard - 25/09/2012 03:53:18 PM
This looks like another one of those plays like the Tuck Rule play - to all appearances and common sense it's BS, but by the strict letter of NFL rules, it was correctly called. All too often in cases of contested possession, it comes down to whoever has it last. Tate had hands on the ball, before and after landing in the end zone, it never touched the ground, so it does not matter what the Green Bay player was doing.
If a fumble can go to the player who pulls it out of another's arms at the bottom of a pile (when the first one to have it should be down by contact), then a catch can be ruled a similar way. It doesn't matter how much the one player tries to wrap his body around the ball - in replays, Tate's left hand appears to be between the ball & Jenning's chest, and he was holding the ball enough that if he was the only one touching it, it would have been ruled a catch, therefore what Jennings does is IRRELEVANT. All that matters is what the receiver is doing.
You can dispute the legitimacy of the rule, and the interpretation, but the referees followed the letter of the law.
Formerly Mat Bloody Cauthon on Wotmania, blessed be its name
/NFL: now that replacement refs have cost the packers a win, can we please get the real ones back? *NM*
- 25/09/2012 05:14:58 AM
711 Views
Link? Clip?
- 25/09/2012 05:27:07 AM
758 Views
Let's just say that Gruden used the word "Jobbed" in the live telecast. *NM*
- 25/09/2012 05:35:08 AM
485 Views
Here's a link.
- 25/09/2012 05:36:56 AM
859 Views
Yes and no; that is the link I referenced in my post.
- 25/09/2012 05:47:07 AM
675 Views
youtube link
- 25/09/2012 07:00:29 AM
884 Views
Thanks; that looks like a textbook case of simultaneous possession, which goes to the receiver: TD.
- 25/09/2012 07:29:28 AM
764 Views
pete carroll is a cheating douchebag, you cannot take his word for what happened
- 25/09/2012 10:59:33 AM
1023 Views
I did not; I watched the clip: Simultaneous possession, which goes to the receiver.
- 26/09/2012 01:30:18 AM
1365 Views
watch a better replay if you can
- 26/09/2012 02:38:17 AM
823 Views
Have now; still not convinced.
- 26/09/2012 04:01:23 AM
867 Views
also, the pass interference on tate that wasn't called is clear at 0:56 in that clip
- 25/09/2012 11:27:36 AM
843 Views
Tate was looking for the ball, and raised his hands to catch it, not push off Sam Shields.
- 26/09/2012 01:33:46 AM
788 Views
watch a better replay and get back to me on this one.
- 26/09/2012 02:36:43 AM
833 Views
Where did the NFL head office acknowledge that?
- 26/09/2012 03:52:36 AM
923 Views
in their official response to the whole incident....?
- 26/09/2012 04:14:52 AM
1057 Views
Fair enough then; the NFLs official position is that offensive PI should have been called.
- 26/09/2012 04:45:58 AM
853 Views
Yeah, if one hand counts as possession
- 25/09/2012 05:15:37 PM
846 Views
Left hand between Jennings' arms and on the ball; right was outside Jennings' arm and on the ball.
- 26/09/2012 01:38:28 AM
781 Views
How have you not seen this play? Are you in a cave? *NM*
- 25/09/2012 03:57:55 PM
400 Views
No, I am in Norway, where NFL coverage is rather limited.
- 26/09/2012 01:40:07 AM
971 Views
While you can hardly blame the replacement refs because they are basically trainees...
- 25/09/2012 06:05:22 AM
942 Views
Now I really want to see this play.
- 25/09/2012 06:27:42 AM
958 Views
Re: Now I really want to see this play.
- 25/09/2012 02:48:56 PM
857 Views
I have still only seen the YouTube clip, but it looked like they both had both hands on the ball.
- 26/09/2012 01:58:27 AM
781 Views
You might appreciate learning that the Lingerie Football League fired some of these refs
- 25/09/2012 07:19:37 AM
859 Views
Tie goes to the receiver - the rule for decades. The Packers benefitted from worse calls last year
- 25/09/2012 11:31:47 AM
877 Views
you probably think greedo shot first too.....
- 25/09/2012 01:49:03 PM
822 Views
Possession doesn't mean squat until you land. Tate had it by then
- 25/09/2012 03:13:29 PM
827 Views
he had nothing until they landed and he tried to pull it away. everyone but you agrees on this *NM*
- 25/09/2012 03:25:43 PM
391 Views
Not so; Cannoli and I agree on pretty much every point involved in this play.
- 26/09/2012 02:17:01 AM
798 Views
They can't reverse that call.
- 25/09/2012 04:43:28 PM
909 Views
the only possible way was to rule it incomplete
- 25/09/2012 10:42:25 PM
890 Views
It was very obviously caught; you can't rule that incomplete.
- 25/09/2012 11:06:17 PM
798 Views
my philosophy is "interception = incomplete" but i think that's only for stats purposes
- 26/09/2012 12:32:43 AM
769 Views
Congrats Cannoli, you are the only person (thing?) in the country who thinks it's a TD *NM*
- 25/09/2012 03:53:18 PM
527 Views
I'm not even the only person in this thread, moron. *NM*
- 25/09/2012 04:07:48 PM
434 Views
Joel hasn't even seen the play, douchebag *NM*
- 25/09/2012 04:12:35 PM
396 Views
I have seen enough of it, and while I did not write Cannolis response, I easily could have.
- 26/09/2012 02:06:45 AM
823 Views
Slightly (very) loopy yet entertaining piece on why Ayn Rand is to blame for all of this.
- 25/09/2012 05:38:12 PM
762 Views
She hates revenue sharing, salary caps & the draft, too, but the Pack would be screwed without each.
- 26/09/2012 03:34:00 AM
794 Views
Here's the proof Cannoli is refusing to see
- 25/09/2012 05:54:07 PM
888 Views
Clearer shot, but stills do not allow us to see where Tates hands were at all times.
- 26/09/2012 02:10:25 AM
693 Views
you can't claim "good ol' strip" *AND* simultaneous catch -- which is it?
- 26/09/2012 02:35:41 AM
1125 Views
I do not claim both: I claim simultaneous catch but IF not, then strip.
- 26/09/2012 03:51:47 AM
1125 Views
you sure you saw the right replay?
- 26/09/2012 04:21:57 AM
799 Views
Think so, yeah.
- 26/09/2012 04:58:15 AM
963 Views
from another angle -- pun intended
- 26/09/2012 04:01:54 PM
796 Views
There are two separate issues: 1) Was it a simultaneous catch; 2) IF not, was it a strip?
- 27/09/2012 08:54:52 AM
989 Views
your opinion is against pretty much everyone in the world, so..... *shrug*
- 27/09/2012 03:55:33 PM
1027 Views
Thanks; I did not expect you to give in so easily.
- 27/09/2012 10:14:30 PM
841 Views
did you even read that article???
- 28/09/2012 12:35:39 AM
841 Views
"his control wasn’t established again...."
- 28/09/2012 01:08:03 AM
1233 Views
wow, what a thorough analysis you sent me
either way, you're still wrong
- 28/09/2012 02:05:24 AM
943 Views
either way, you're still wrong
- 28/09/2012 02:05:24 AM
943 Views
Worst calls are made all the time by the regular officials.
- 26/09/2012 01:23:57 AM
804 Views
yes, but not usually more than one per game, certainly not several in a single weekend.... *NM*
- 26/09/2012 02:39:56 AM
407 Views

*MN*