that was NOT a simultaneous catch. jennings had complete possession all the way to the ground then tate put his other hand on it. both refs looked at each other, one called time the other called TD. AFTER the official ruling was TD there is no way the call is being reversed but the call was wrong from the beginning.
Tate had both hands on it as soon as Jennings did; if that is not simultaneous possession nothing is.
tate did not get a second hand around until after jennings had gone to the ground. even so, the best angles clearly show jennings had both hands on it before tate got his left hand inside. tate's left hand did not come in until jennings began pulling the ball in to his chest. it was not simultaneous possession no matter how much you hate the packers
"The RIAA has shown a certain disregard for the creative people of the industry in their eagerness to protect the revenues of the record companies." -- Frank Zappa
"That's the trouble with political jokes in this country... they get elected!" -- Dave Lippman
"That's the trouble with political jokes in this country... they get elected!" -- Dave Lippman
/NFL: now that replacement refs have cost the packers a win, can we please get the real ones back? *NM*
- 25/09/2012 05:14:58 AM
710 Views
Link? Clip?
- 25/09/2012 05:27:07 AM
757 Views
Let's just say that Gruden used the word "Jobbed" in the live telecast. *NM*
- 25/09/2012 05:35:08 AM
484 Views
Here's a link.
- 25/09/2012 05:36:56 AM
858 Views
Yes and no; that is the link I referenced in my post.
- 25/09/2012 05:47:07 AM
674 Views
youtube link
- 25/09/2012 07:00:29 AM
884 Views
Thanks; that looks like a textbook case of simultaneous possession, which goes to the receiver: TD.
- 25/09/2012 07:29:28 AM
762 Views
pete carroll is a cheating douchebag, you cannot take his word for what happened
- 25/09/2012 10:59:33 AM
1023 Views
I did not; I watched the clip: Simultaneous possession, which goes to the receiver.
- 26/09/2012 01:30:18 AM
1364 Views
watch a better replay if you can
- 26/09/2012 02:38:17 AM
823 Views
Have now; still not convinced.
- 26/09/2012 04:01:23 AM
866 Views
also, the pass interference on tate that wasn't called is clear at 0:56 in that clip
- 25/09/2012 11:27:36 AM
843 Views
Tate was looking for the ball, and raised his hands to catch it, not push off Sam Shields.
- 26/09/2012 01:33:46 AM
788 Views
watch a better replay and get back to me on this one.
- 26/09/2012 02:36:43 AM
832 Views
Where did the NFL head office acknowledge that?
- 26/09/2012 03:52:36 AM
922 Views
in their official response to the whole incident....?
- 26/09/2012 04:14:52 AM
1057 Views
Fair enough then; the NFLs official position is that offensive PI should have been called.
- 26/09/2012 04:45:58 AM
852 Views
Yeah, if one hand counts as possession
- 25/09/2012 05:15:37 PM
845 Views
Left hand between Jennings' arms and on the ball; right was outside Jennings' arm and on the ball.
- 26/09/2012 01:38:28 AM
781 Views
How have you not seen this play? Are you in a cave? *NM*
- 25/09/2012 03:57:55 PM
399 Views
No, I am in Norway, where NFL coverage is rather limited.
- 26/09/2012 01:40:07 AM
970 Views
While you can hardly blame the replacement refs because they are basically trainees...
- 25/09/2012 06:05:22 AM
941 Views
Now I really want to see this play.
- 25/09/2012 06:27:42 AM
958 Views
Re: Now I really want to see this play.
- 25/09/2012 02:48:56 PM
857 Views
I have still only seen the YouTube clip, but it looked like they both had both hands on the ball.
- 26/09/2012 01:58:27 AM
780 Views
You might appreciate learning that the Lingerie Football League fired some of these refs
- 25/09/2012 07:19:37 AM
859 Views
Tie goes to the receiver - the rule for decades. The Packers benefitted from worse calls last year
- 25/09/2012 11:31:47 AM
877 Views
you probably think greedo shot first too.....
- 25/09/2012 01:49:03 PM
821 Views
Possession doesn't mean squat until you land. Tate had it by then
- 25/09/2012 03:13:29 PM
826 Views
he had nothing until they landed and he tried to pull it away. everyone but you agrees on this *NM*
- 25/09/2012 03:25:43 PM
391 Views
Not so; Cannoli and I agree on pretty much every point involved in this play.
- 26/09/2012 02:17:01 AM
797 Views
They can't reverse that call.
- 25/09/2012 04:43:28 PM
908 Views
the only possible way was to rule it incomplete
- 25/09/2012 10:42:25 PM
890 Views
It was very obviously caught; you can't rule that incomplete.
- 25/09/2012 11:06:17 PM
797 Views
my philosophy is "interception = incomplete" but i think that's only for stats purposes
- 26/09/2012 12:32:43 AM
769 Views
Congrats Cannoli, you are the only person (thing?) in the country who thinks it's a TD *NM*
- 25/09/2012 03:53:18 PM
526 Views
I'm not even the only person in this thread, moron. *NM*
- 25/09/2012 04:07:48 PM
433 Views
Joel hasn't even seen the play, douchebag *NM*
- 25/09/2012 04:12:35 PM
396 Views
I have seen enough of it, and while I did not write Cannolis response, I easily could have.
- 26/09/2012 02:06:45 AM
823 Views
Slightly (very) loopy yet entertaining piece on why Ayn Rand is to blame for all of this.
- 25/09/2012 05:38:12 PM
761 Views
She hates revenue sharing, salary caps & the draft, too, but the Pack would be screwed without each.
- 26/09/2012 03:34:00 AM
793 Views
Here's the proof Cannoli is refusing to see
- 25/09/2012 05:54:07 PM
887 Views
Clearer shot, but stills do not allow us to see where Tates hands were at all times.
- 26/09/2012 02:10:25 AM
692 Views
you can't claim "good ol' strip" *AND* simultaneous catch -- which is it?
- 26/09/2012 02:35:41 AM
1125 Views
I do not claim both: I claim simultaneous catch but IF not, then strip.
- 26/09/2012 03:51:47 AM
1124 Views
you sure you saw the right replay?
- 26/09/2012 04:21:57 AM
799 Views
Think so, yeah.
- 26/09/2012 04:58:15 AM
963 Views
from another angle -- pun intended
- 26/09/2012 04:01:54 PM
795 Views
There are two separate issues: 1) Was it a simultaneous catch; 2) IF not, was it a strip?
- 27/09/2012 08:54:52 AM
988 Views
your opinion is against pretty much everyone in the world, so..... *shrug*
- 27/09/2012 03:55:33 PM
1026 Views
Thanks; I did not expect you to give in so easily.
- 27/09/2012 10:14:30 PM
840 Views
did you even read that article???
- 28/09/2012 12:35:39 AM
840 Views
"his control wasn’t established again...."
- 28/09/2012 01:08:03 AM
1233 Views
wow, what a thorough analysis you sent me
either way, you're still wrong
- 28/09/2012 02:05:24 AM
943 Views
either way, you're still wrong
- 28/09/2012 02:05:24 AM
943 Views
Worst calls are made all the time by the regular officials.
- 26/09/2012 01:23:57 AM
804 Views
yes, but not usually more than one per game, certainly not several in a single weekend.... *NM*
- 26/09/2012 02:39:56 AM
406 Views

*MN*