Active Users:502 Time:06/12/2025 09:11:31 AM
Thanks; that looks like a textbook case of simultaneous possession, which goes to the receiver: TD. Joel Send a noteboard - 25/09/2012 07:29:28 AM
not a great link as the refresh rate is low and only a very brief slow motion replay.
notice that Jennings gets the ball first, then presses it against his chest. Only then does Tate put his hands around it.

The other link not working has less to do with ESPN's decision and more with distribution rights in other countries.

Tate had his hands on it before it ever got near Jennings' body; I cannot tell from the Youtube video who got it first, but it would be impossible to say there is conclusive video evidence to overturn the TD ruling on the field. And had I been on the field I would have made precisely the same call: By rule, simultaneous possession goes to the receiver; TD Seahawks.

Now, that does not speak to any offensive pass interference BEFORE the catch, which obviously would negate the catch and end the game, but I could not see that from the Youtube clip, because all the video before the catch is of Wilson and the line. It also does not cover any other bad non/calls (and the ESPN author seemed to feel there were many on both sides, though in terms of the games outcome that may amount to the old "blow one down there, blow one down here" ref mantra.) The ruling on the catch itself looked like a very difficult but 100% correct call though, both in the initial ruling and its confirmation by replay.

The NY Daily News article on it quotes Pete Carroll saying the same thing I (and, evidently, the refs) thought, and invoking the baseball rule of which the NFL rule always reminds me: “From what I understood from the officials it was a simultaneous catch. Tie goes to the runner. Good call,” Seattle coach Pete Carroll said.

Now, maybe this is a situation like the Tuck Rule and the like, but as much as people may want to complain about the call, any complaints should be directed to the Competition Committee who made the rule, not the refs who correctly applied it.
Honorbound and honored to be Bonded to Mahtaliel Sedai
Last First in wotmania Chat
Slightly better than chocolate.

Love still can't be coerced.
Please Don't Eat the Newbies!

LoL. Be well, RAFOlk.
This message last edited by Joel on 25/09/2012 at 07:32:18 AM
Reply to message
/NFL: now that replacement refs have cost the packers a win, can we please get the real ones back? *NM* - 25/09/2012 05:14:58 AM 710 Views
I was gonna keep it to one thread, but hell, I'll join yours. - 25/09/2012 05:24:26 AM 802 Views
Link? Clip? - 25/09/2012 05:27:07 AM 758 Views
Let's just say that Gruden used the word "Jobbed" in the live telecast. *NM* - 25/09/2012 05:35:08 AM 485 Views
Here's a link. - 25/09/2012 05:36:56 AM 859 Views
Yes and no; that is the link I referenced in my post. - 25/09/2012 05:47:07 AM 675 Views
Re: Yes and no; that is the link I referenced in my post. - 25/09/2012 05:52:55 AM 904 Views
Re: Yes and no; that is the link I referenced in my post. - 25/09/2012 06:13:46 AM 860 Views
youtube link - 25/09/2012 07:00:29 AM 884 Views
Thanks; that looks like a textbook case of simultaneous possession, which goes to the receiver: TD. - 25/09/2012 07:29:28 AM 764 Views
pete carroll is a cheating douchebag, you cannot take his word for what happened - 25/09/2012 10:59:33 AM 1023 Views
I did not; I watched the clip: Simultaneous possession, which goes to the receiver. - 26/09/2012 01:30:18 AM 1364 Views
watch a better replay if you can - 26/09/2012 02:38:17 AM 823 Views
Have now; still not convinced. - 26/09/2012 04:01:23 AM 867 Views
that's ok. you're still wrong - 26/09/2012 04:12:56 AM 878 Views
I know you are but what am I? *MN* - 26/09/2012 04:48:47 AM 819 Views
How have you not seen this play? Are you in a cave? *NM* - 25/09/2012 03:57:55 PM 400 Views
No, I am in Norway, where NFL coverage is rather limited. - 26/09/2012 01:40:07 AM 971 Views
Wait, you're not in Houston? *NM* - 26/09/2012 01:42:45 AM 418 Views
Not since the Texas Sesquicentennial, no. - 26/09/2012 01:45:29 AM 738 Views
While you can hardly blame the replacement refs because they are basically trainees... - 25/09/2012 06:05:22 AM 942 Views
Now I really want to see this play. - 25/09/2012 06:27:42 AM 958 Views
Re: Now I really want to see this play. - 25/09/2012 02:48:56 PM 857 Views
I have still only seen the YouTube clip, but it looked like they both had both hands on the ball. - 26/09/2012 01:58:27 AM 780 Views
There are good views on nfl.com. Will link. - 26/09/2012 02:16:51 AM 935 Views
Thanks; I still do not see much to change my mind. - 26/09/2012 02:32:43 AM 871 Views
The last call was a joke. - 25/09/2012 06:52:59 AM 817 Views
Tie goes to the receiver - the rule for decades. The Packers benefitted from worse calls last year - 25/09/2012 11:31:47 AM 877 Views
you probably think greedo shot first too..... - 25/09/2012 01:49:03 PM 822 Views
They can't reverse that call. - 25/09/2012 04:43:28 PM 909 Views
the only possible way was to rule it incomplete - 25/09/2012 10:42:25 PM 890 Views
Congrats Cannoli, you are the only person (thing?) in the country who thinks it's a TD *NM* - 25/09/2012 03:53:18 PM 526 Views
I'm not even the only person in this thread, moron. *NM* - 25/09/2012 04:07:48 PM 434 Views
Joel hasn't even seen the play, douchebag *NM* - 25/09/2012 04:12:35 PM 396 Views
Just so you can get this information without namecalling ... - 25/09/2012 04:18:41 PM 793 Views
No I mean he hasn't seen the replay over and over on ESPN *NM* - 25/09/2012 04:21:46 PM 404 Views
Interesting. What is the rule with arguing refs? - 25/09/2012 05:18:35 PM 745 Views
That response was disturbingly like my thoughts on the play. - 26/09/2012 01:49:37 AM 833 Views
As a Seahawks fan. - 25/09/2012 02:10:58 PM 789 Views
No. Not with that attitude. *NM* - 25/09/2012 04:03:32 PM 384 Views
*throws public tantrum* *NM* - 25/09/2012 10:39:22 PM 369 Views
Here's the proof Cannoli is refusing to see - 25/09/2012 05:54:07 PM 887 Views
Clearer shot, but stills do not allow us to see where Tates hands were at all times. - 26/09/2012 02:10:25 AM 692 Views
you can't claim "good ol' strip" *AND* simultaneous catch -- which is it? - 26/09/2012 02:35:41 AM 1125 Views
I do not claim both: I claim simultaneous catch but IF not, then strip. - 26/09/2012 03:51:47 AM 1125 Views
you sure you saw the right replay? - 26/09/2012 04:21:57 AM 799 Views
Think so, yeah. - 26/09/2012 04:58:15 AM 963 Views
from another angle -- pun intended - 26/09/2012 04:01:54 PM 796 Views
There are two separate issues: 1) Was it a simultaneous catch; 2) IF not, was it a strip? - 27/09/2012 08:54:52 AM 989 Views
your opinion is against pretty much everyone in the world, so..... *shrug* - 27/09/2012 03:55:33 PM 1027 Views
Thanks; I did not expect you to give in so easily. - 27/09/2012 10:14:30 PM 841 Views
did you even read that article??? - 28/09/2012 12:35:39 AM 841 Views
"his control wasn’t established again...." - 28/09/2012 01:08:03 AM 1233 Views
wow, what a thorough analysis you sent me either way, you're still wrong - 28/09/2012 02:05:24 AM 943 Views
That is not an argument. - 28/09/2012 02:26:58 AM 739 Views

Reply to Message